It’s About Time…

The truth is I not only toyed with the idea of a blog in June, I actually registered for this blog in June. And here it is…the end of October. I get all caught up in what my first entry should be. I feel like it should be memorable and thoughtful. And so time passed by.

But I think it’s about time I start blogging. I’ve begun a new journey. A crazy journey. And you might as well come along for the ride.

I’m engaged. My fiance lives in New York. I live in Illinois. And we’re planning a wedding in Colorado. I don’t know if you noticed, but that’s three different states. It’s also three different time zones.  It’s three different reasons to make me really consider an elopement package. Some of these posts could get a little interesting.

When someone has good news at school, the lucky teacher brings donuts and a clever poem to put in the teacher’s lounge. I couldn’t believe this moment was here for me. I’m not one to love the center of attention, and I was completely overwhelmed with the amount of love and support showered on me in those 30 minutes. It was pure jubilation.

Except for one Debbie Downer. Someone asked when we were hoping to get married. And I was saying, “Next summer, hopefully in July…” when I overheard Debbie Downer say, “Well, that’s not very much time” and caught her negative eye roll and shaking her head out of the corner of my eye. I tried not to let her pin pop my good mood balloon, but I would be lying if I didn’t feel a little panicked in that moment…

…Because Rob is only here for one week each month, and we only had a few days left. There was no more time to just sit and marvel and soak in being engaged. We had to hit the ground running. In three days, we made a budget, a guest list, opened a joint savings account and decided on a state. We also went for ice cream two out of three of those nights. There are some things you should always make time for.

On another note about time, I love to write—but I hate to edit. It’s true. I’m a third grade teacher who loves to overuse commas and use fragments and weird word order. I know this is a fault. But if I ever write a book, I promise I will get a really good editor. But please don’t judge me on any grammatical or mechanical errors. If you make me worry about your judgement, this will never get done. I don’t have time to go through this with my purple felt-tipped pen. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “It’s About Time…

  1. Oooooh, I’m so excited about your blog! Time zones, shmime zones. You’re an expert at those already! Yay for donuts, poetry, and wedding planning! Boo for Debbie Downers. You should post your happy poem! So extremely elated for you and Rob and so privileged to have you as my friend!

  2. I will have to add this to my list of blogs that I check regularly!!! I’m so excited for you… but I always knew God had this coming for you, and that it was going to be perfect. Love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

