A Poem For Donuts

I love donuts. Really. So, imagine my joy when I discovered Indian Grove’s Good News tradition.

Donuts = Good News.

That’s right nothing says, “Celebrate good times, come on!” like a chocolate sprinkled donut.

That is the best idea ever.

Several months ago, a group of teachers sat around a table in the lounge. Alexis was working on a bridal shower invitation for the school. And I was distracting her. Luckily, Jaime came up with a beautiful and clever little poem lickety split. It was at that moment I knew that I would need to recruit her someday in the future.

On the evening of October 10, 2010 I called Jaime and asked if she would write a poem for me. She was ecstatic. She was supportive and wonderful and full of questions. And this is what she wrote:

We were at The Botanic Gardens                                                                                                The flowers were in bloom                                                                                                               I walked in with a boyfriend                                                                                                          And left with a future groom.

Yes! Rob did it!                                                                                                                                 He got down on one knee                                                                                                              Of course! I said, “Yes!”                                                                                                              And now a bride I will be

So please have a donut                                                                                                                        And celebrate with me                                                                                                                    As I change my name from Goebel                                                                                                  And become Mrs. Zanetti

Isn’t she amazing?

 

Leave a Reply

