Flea Market Finds

I’m a fan of flea markets. I won’t lie. I like vintage items and I love the scavenger hunt to find them.  It doesn’t hurt that you can get a pretty good deal on things too.

Which is perfect since I’m trying to get a little creative with the wedding. It’s no secret that weddings cost a pretty penny (if only they really would cost a pretty penny. I got a nice shiney one from the store today). I am bound and determined to make sure this wedding reflects our personalities and style without us becoming completely broke after the wedding. Thank goodness vintage weddings are on the trend.

And so I went to the Kane County Flea Market. I have found some really great things at this market: the bed that’s in mom’s guest room, the chairs on our porch, and my picnic basket (just to name a few). Here are some items I found on my hunt yesterday:

This is one of my favorites. It’s a beautiful necklace for a History lover. Yes, that’s the Drummer and Fife from the Revolutionary War. If I wasn’t working on the wedding list with my specific wedding budget, I would own this. I would have worn it to church today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like this mailbox bank. It reminded of my childhood. I’m not sure why. I think perhaps I had one like this at my Dad’s house.

 

 

 

 

 

 

These groovy suitcases remind me of a suitcase my Gramma used have. If I remember correctly, it’s the first piece of luggage an airline lost.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love vintage jewelry. Unfortunately, jewelry was not on my shopping list this time. I’m just impressed that this picture came out so artsy even on my Blackberry.

 

If the green tie had been in better shape, it would belong to a groomsman.

 

 

 

 

 

But seriously. Here are my purchases. The pics are not artsy, because this is their “before” picture. And we know that “before” pictures have to look bad, in case the “after” is a hot mess.

Some vintage tablecloths and material. I love the green one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hahaha. This family picture is awesome. I’m in it for the frame. Which needs a little love.

One thought on “Flea Market Finds

  1. The suitcase that the airline lost was mine when I was in high school. Gramma kept it, so it became hers.

    Gramma used to have frames like that one, too! I’m sure we sold them on the garage sales.

    You should look through some of the tablecloths in the basement. They might be useful for the wedding.

Leave a Reply

