Baggage Claim

So, here’s a scenario that boggles my mind…

The luggage carousel at any given airport.

You and your fellow passengers get off the plane and head toward baggage claim. Slowly people start to gather near the carousel…but not right up next to it.  This seems like a good place to wait. We can all see what’s coming and there is plenty of space to grab your bag without taking out a small child.

And then, the light starts flashing and the buzzer beeps…and the craziest thing happens. Everyone crowds forward. They get right up to the edge. They make a wall …shoulder to shoulder…a wall that cannot be penetrated. Now you can’t see anything. There is no room to get a bag out.

I have witnessed this several times and I wait safely behind the line. I do this because I know inevitably, if you’re in the front of the line your baggage doesn’t come out first. The baggage carousel does not operate on a first come first serve basis. It does not believe in lines. It’s random and there is no one to tip for good service.

And that’s where today’s story comes in…

The light flashed, the buzzer beeped and the frontliners stood there waiting…taking up space for their bags that may never come. They craned their necks to see what black bag was coming out of the Door of Wonder. And guess what? It did not have their clever piece of ribbon on it.

You know whose bag was coming out? Mine.

Yep, that’s right. My large slightly over the weight limit bag was coming towards me and the wall was before me. And this is what I said…

“Excuse me. I need to get my bag” And so they moved just enough to let me slip in sideways. Are you kidding me? Don’t you see what’s coming towards you? It’s bigger than a Smart Car.

“It’s that big one, it’s really heavy. You might want to get out of the way. I have no control over it.”

I tried to say this nicely and not display my lack of tolerance for stupidity. But I cannot be sure.

But seriously….what’s the deal? Can anyone explain this “wall” phenomenon to me?

 

3 thoughts on “Baggage Claim

  1. I think it is the same mentality as the cat. She meows for food, then waits so close to the dish that I can’t get it in without pouring it over her head.

  2. One time I was over 8 months pregnant and was trying to life a bag off the carriage and could not do it, so I was running around the carriage with it hoping that somehow I would muster up enough muscle to get it over that ledge of some poor soul would feel sorry for me and help me out. Are you imagining this big pregnant lady running around the carriage running crashing down that wall?? It was not a pretty sight.

Leave a Reply

