Awkward Conversation

Ok. Let’s have it. I know for many of you this probably goes without saying. But nonetheless, I want to just put it out there so we’re all on the same page.

The guest list. I hate that in all the wonderful, gloriousness of being so overwhelmingly happy after getting engaged, one is instantly thrown into the guest list debacle. There is a long list of well-wishers and so many people are happy for you. And then you have to “rank” them. I hated this process. We spent months on it. Going over and over what we could afford, our priorities for our wedding, and who we truly needed at our wedding. I got a gray hair.

If you’re reading this, you are probably one of my many friends on Facebook. You are probably closer than that portion of friends that are merely acquaintances from my past, a friend of a friend, or someone I sat by once in class. If you’re actually taking the time to read this, you probably know a little bit about me. And for that, I appreciate you. But I’m sorry. The guest list is small.

There are so many of you out there that have been my friend for many, many years. Even maybe a good friend I work with, or someone I hung out with in college and so many precious people from Grace Bible Church that I can’t begin to mention. I want you to know that I treasure you. All of you…for the friend you have been, and the friend you continue to be. Unfortunately, space (and money) is limited and we had to make some tough choices.

We’re planning on having an Open House down in my hometown once the dust settles in the fall. We would love to have you join us.

There. Now that we’ve got that out of the way, I can start to share some of the things I’ve been working on without feeling so awkward.

2 thoughts on “Awkward Conversation

  1. WHAT? You are not paying for my entire family to fly up from Haiti to come to your wedding??!!! JK 🙂 Seriously, we are very happy for you! Guest list was the biggest “battle” in our wedding planning 13 years ago. Just enjoy your day!

  2. Been there, done that… as have a lot of other people so they should understand! We did the open house thing afterwards too. It worked out great for us. I’m getting more excited for you as the day draws nearer! I look forward to hearing all about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

