Meet Me on March 22nd

This is schmoopy. You’ve been forewarned. You don’t have to read it. I won’t be offended. I try not to be schmoopy often. But sometimes schmoopiness is bound to occur.

Rob and I have not had a Christmas together yet. Nor have we celebrated his birthday together. But today, we get our third March 22nd. Two years ago on this date, I walked into Marble Collegiate Church with Caleb. I was taken in with the beautiful architecture and meeting Caleb’s church family. As I scooted into the plush pew, all breathless from the Caleb-sized walk (in heels) and the cold air, a very New York looking man, a few pews up, turned around and waved. Caleb waved back, leaned over and said, “That’s my friend Rob…”

I have never been one to believe in love at first sight. In fact, I’m a little bit of a cynic when it comes to love. And I was definitely cynical about there ever being love for me. But I will say this. There was something different about the moment I met Rob.

Turning 30 was rough. I was quite confident that the clock was going to strike 30 for me, and I was going to be alone forever. And people would say, “You’ve got plenty of time!”, “I know there is love out there for you!” and “Any moment. You never know when it can happen”. These were never very helpful. Because how could they know? God really could be calling me to a life of singleness. I know plenty of singles who don’t want to be single and are single. And no matter what, it was clear God wanted me single at that time, so I just needed to accept it and move on. But I had a hard time accepting it. So, I went to New York.

And so I was wrong. There was a moment.  It’s so strange. I can remember everything quite clearly about that day. In general, I have a pretty good memory, but that day is vivid. Every detail of meeting Caleb’s friends, walking all over the city, laughing at lunch, the glorious Mac and Cheese- Every moment is etched out in my mind bright and shiny.  It would still be another 5 months before Rob and I would start our dating relationship. But on March 22nd my whole life changed and I’m glad I remember the moment.

Last year Rob and I met up in the Pacific Northwest for a mountainous vacation and a chance to meet some of my dearest friends. We both had a layover in Seattle, but were on different flights to Portland. Rob got me switched to his flight…although to accomplish this task he called me his “fiancé”– thinking that held more emotional weight in getting someone to make the switch. And with a quick search in gmail, I found this flight took place on March 22nd.

Today, I fly to New York. And no, I did not plan it to be on March 22nd. American Airlines and their crazy volatile flight prices led me to flying on a Tuesday. It wasn’t until I bought the ticket and went, “Huh, March 22nd.”

It has been one month since we last said good bye. Sometimes, this distance thing is really difficult. I know this is God’s plan for us right now. I know that we need to be wise with our money and wait for His timing. I’m trying to stay full of faith as we wait for God to reveal His plan. But sometimes, the waiting is painful.

I keep hearing that planning your wedding is supposed to be the happiest time of your life. And I will admit that it has had its truly wonderful moments. But I really would like to get to point where we are married. Because, Lord willing, that means the distance is over. All the looming major decisions and details have fallen into place and we are living in the same place, together. I’m looking forward to the married part.

So, here’s to our third March 22nd and getting a little bit closer to July 4th.

4 thoughts on “Meet Me on March 22nd

  1. So happy for you Karrie, and I for one definitely understand the waiting for God’s timing. He will keep you strong, and he will see you through the difficult times, and the reward will be worth it. Keep your chin up, your faith strong, and always look forward. And never forget to celebrate March 22.

Leave a Reply

