Captured Joy

Yes.

It’s true.

I’m picking up the blog again.

I fell off the bandwagon once again. But I’m picking myself up, dusting off my pants and ready to climb back up.

I would like to say, that I’m quite certain the wedding pushed me off. It swung it’s, “too much to do in too little time” battle ax. The rest is history.

I would also like to say, that I stopped writing because there were some aspects of the wedding I didn’t want to give away yet. There were some parts that I didn’t know how they were actually going to turn out. And so…I kept them a secret.

Now that it’s all said and done, I can start to share parts of that crazy journey.

First up…our photographer.

When Rob and I began planning, we wrote out our priorities. Separately, we wrote the aspects that were important to us to for not just our wedding, but in starting our life together. If you’re planning a wedding, I recommend this. We really poured our hearts and dreams into these narratives. When we lost focused, when we got stressed, when it all got crazy, I would go back and read our priorities. It was always a surefire way to get me back on track.

One of my top priorities was a photographer. I had very specific attributes in mind…creative, someone who captured the moments I was sure to miss, 8 hours, printing rights, someone I could trust, and of course, a reasonable price. We found Piney River Ranch through a photographer’s blog on a whim. Her photos were beautiful, creative and she was on the table. In fact, she was the only photographer I had on my list for awhile.

But then, one day, I was scrolling through some pictures of the Arndt’s “Tetons and Yellowstone” pictures on Facebook. And there she was…our photographer. Lauren Johnson, fellow Trinitarian, friend and photographer, was living in Denver. I had completely forgotten about her move to the west. This revelation was a glorious moment. She was everything I asked for in a photographer…and more! We had her booked long before we had our venue nailed down!

On the day of, she and Kylie (also a Trinitarian) were absolutely amazing. Not only did she get all the pictures we requested, but they went above and beyond. Lauren and Kylie were creative. They kept our day running on-time. And, my favorite, when taking a group photo they both would take pictures with our guests’ cameras too.  Guests could have purchased the same picture online, but they took the time (and lost the money) to take the pictures.  They also stayed a little bit longer until after Rob and I left…getting some of my favorite photos! (#520—I heart you, Meaghan Peters!)

Annie Leibovitz once said, “I wish that all of nature’s magnificence, the emotion of the land, the living energy of place could be photographed.” The place we chose for our wedding was truly naturally magnificent…breathtaking in fact. The emotion of our wedding day was pure joy. Rob and I wanted our wedding to feel like everyone was celebrating with us, not at us. And that feeling was accomplished. There was so much JOY at our wedding.

Our photographers, Lauren and Kylie, captured both the amazing awe-inspired beauty of the Gore Mountains and the incredible joy that filled the ranch. As you scroll through the pictures, I hope you too can be inspired by nature’s magnificence and feel the energy of joy that filled our wedding day.

Thank you Lauren Johnson and Kylie Watters for making our incredible day last a lifetime! I absolutely adore all of them.

If you would like to enjoy, please go to:

http://www.ljohnsonphoto.com/Weddings

password: robert

I will be posting pictures in the (not so near) future. Some photos are so incredibly awesome that the story behind them must be told. In due time, you’ll get the story behind them. But for now, feel free to enjoy.

 

2 thoughts on “Captured Joy

  1. BEAUTIFUL!!! I could see all your hard work and planning, and your special touch in all the details throughout all of the pictures. What a beautiful way to start your life together. I can’t wait to hear all about your heavenly day!

  2. Your pictures are lovely as they captured the spirit of your day. Joy radiates, not only from you, but from your family and friends, as well. Your planning and details included their comfort, their fun, and their participation in the moment with you. You are a dear and loving couple.

    God bless you both,
    Debi

Leave a Reply

