Hehehe

Yesterday, I got ready for work and I decided it was time for some fancy pants. So I chose a pair that I adore.

I will admit that they are a tad old. I bought them in 2002. Judge me if you will for wearing pants from 10 years ago…But I love, love, love, love, love them. I love them because they make me happy.

I love them because they have stripes. Long vertical stripes. They make me feel like my legs are long and thin. And who wants to part with a pair of pants that performs that kind of magic?

I love them because I got them at H&M before they came stateside. So I feel like they’re a fashion treasure.

But mostly, I love them because they represent a most wonderful moment in my life.

If someone were to ask me, “What is the best decision you ever made?” I believe my answer would have these pants involved. Yes, I love that I married Rob. Yes, I love that I went to New York on a whim and met him. Yes, I’m glad I have chosen to be a follower of Christ.

But I’m really glad I went to London on a whim in March of 2002. Because without that trip some of those things might not have happened.

There is something about that trip that changed my life for the better. If there is a moment that I thought I might close up shop and live under a rock, it was probably February of 2002. I had no idea what I was doing and where I was going.

But then, when pondering spring break, I looked at my roommate Beth and said, “Can you believe it’s cheaper to go to London than Portland?”

To which she answered “Well we should probably go”

“Okay” I said. And my life changed. I could make wonderful, fabulous choices about my life. All those things I wanted to be, could be!

And I am not kidding when I say there was this moment in Oxford where I was walking down Pusey Lane and I felt the page turn.  A new chapter was born. I felt it. I shed off that college, uncertainty skin. I had a blank page before me. And it was going to be a good, difficult, but good.

I embraced that moment of being young, independent and single. And life was good. Scary. But good.

And at some point on that trip I bought these pants. They represent independence. And I love them. They make me feel happy about that glorious, life-changing, spur of the moment trip to London.

Only yesterday I put them on and I giggled.

Yep. Those are my pants…looking like my curtains.

3 thoughts on “Hehehe

  1. I laughed all the way through. And then I saw the picture and thought, “Why is she showing us her curtains again?”

    I also love that there is a red squiggly line under Karried.

Leave a Reply

